Using the Acer C720 Chromebook In 2018


Back when I got my Acer C720 Chromebook on the 27th of January 2014 it was the current generation of Chromebook I used it as my daily driver right up until October 2015 when I then went back to using My Toshiba C660-15R Windows Laptop. In early 2016 I switched to using an HP Stream 11 Windows 10 Laptop that is a Chromebook wannabe, but running a full Desktop OS like Windows 10 Home doesn’t offer a very usable system as after Windows 10 there is 2.76GB of free space doesn’t even allow for Windows updates after taking into account an Office Installation. I then upgraded to a Lenovo Yoga Laptop in the summer of 2017 which has been my daily driver up until the 10th of December.

On the 10th of December, I dug out my Acer C720 as I wanted to watch some YouTube videos, despite the Trackpad failing while I’ve not been using it it’s still usable with an external Mouse. My C720 has been my daily driver until I converted my HP Stream 11 into a Chromebook using CloudReady. 

For a Laptop that is no longer supported by GoogleCloudReady. the Acer C720 is still a very capable Laptop that I’d still be using as my daily driver if the Trackpad hadn’t failed. In the future, I might start using again by hooking it up to an external display & a Wireless Keyboard an Mouse, but as a daily driver Laptop, I think I’ll stick with my HP Stream 11 now that I’ve given it a new lease of life with Chromium OS thanks to CloudReady.

Roland

Have your say

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑