Ubuntu Lucid Lynx Desktop Edition vs Ubuntu Maverick Meerkat Desktop Edition


After Installing the Release Candidate of Ubuntu Maverick Meerkat Netbook Edition  yesterday I thought I’d login to the regular Desktop and compare it with the Desktop Edition of Lucid Lynx and the only thing that has changed in this release to the previous release is that the clock is the new clock with the pop down calendar when you left click on it.  The Connection manager still uses the old graphic and the volume control is the old style modern looking on that is present in the previous release and not the old blocky volume control that is in the Unity Netbook Desktop.

Roland
The next version of Ubuntu is coming soon

2 thoughts on “Ubuntu Lucid Lynx Desktop Edition vs Ubuntu Maverick Meerkat Desktop Edition

  1. This is a great post and may be one that should be followed up to see what the results are

    A companion mailed this link the other day and I am desperately awaiting your next write. Continue on the brilliant work.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. I’m going to do a follow up comparing the two releases now that I have received the CD of Maverick Meerkat that I ordered from Conical. I might start doing a full comparison of Lucid Lynx vs Maverick Meerkat later today as I’ve got to sort out a driver problem on my Windows 7 Notebook, so it might be an ideal time to wipe and put Ubuntu on.

      My full comparison will probably be posted on Monday as I will start doing the comparison review later on today starting with Lucid Lynx, then will do the Maverick Meerkat comparison review tomorrow as a clean install then if I’ve got time on Saturday I’ll do a comparison review of Lucid Lynx vs Maverick Meerkat from an upgrade point of view.

      As I don’t use Ubuntu on my Netbook any more as it doesn’t really support a BlackBerry cell phone other than in mass storage mode I’m having to use Windows 7 on my main Blogging machine it will more than likely make writing this review easier as I’ll be able to write the review as I’m installing the different versions and as I’m upgrading.

      The review will probably be posted on Monday as I’ll probably not do any Blogging on Sunday as it’s my birthday.

      I’ll email you the link to the review once it’s live on my Blog.

      Roland

      Like

Have your say

